July 28, 2021


Game CMD 368

Alliance-Vikin.gg qualify for EU upper division


Alliance-Vikin.gg qualify for EU upper division – A massive change to the 2021 Dota 2 Pro Circuit would be seen this year as a regional league would take place before only two Majors that occur throughout the year. 


The first season of the League is only a week away, but we’d see a decision-making tournament for the EU region before that, which would put teams in the upper or lower division.

The top two teams claimed their rightful position

The top two teams claimed their rightful position – Alliance-Vikin.gg

Alliance and Vikin.gg are the first two teams to qualify for the Dota Pro Circuit Europe regional league upper division through closed qualifiers, to absolutely no one’s surprise.

During their runs, Alliance had a little bit more trouble than Vikin.gg, but both top-seeded rosters qualified without falling a series in the upper bracket.

In the opening round, Vikin.gg swept the Hippomaniacs before facing the revamped Chicken Fighters roster for the first qualifier spot in the deciding match. As Chicken Fighters took game one, Charlie “CharlieDota” Arat and Ondřej “Supream^” Štarha dominated game one, combining for 32 kills and 33 assists, along with 70,000 damage.

That would be Vikin.gg’s only loss throughout the event. In two quick victories to close the series, Miroslav “BOOM” Bičan, Indji “Shad” Lub and the rest of the team crushed the opposition.

The Alliance arguably had a more challenging path to the upper division, having to face the Hellbear Smashers of Rasmus “MISERY” Filipsen and the revamped roster of mudgolems that made noise in previous events.

Alliance started strong in both series before dropping off in the second games, allowing their opponents to force decision-making matches to remain in the upper bracket.

But Magnusson and his teammates did not lose composure with Gustav ‘s4’ and stuck to their game, clutching both series and entering the upper division.

Alliance and Vikin.gg are now joined in the upper division by Team Liquid, OG, Team Secret, and Nigma. On Jan. 10, the final two slots will be decided.

In order to compete during the coming DPC season, the remaining four teams will fall into the lower division.