Game CMD 368

Final Fantasy XIV Guide – Getting started ahead of Endwalker

Final Fantasy XIV

Final Fantasy XIV

Starting in Final Fantasy 14, the critically acclaimed MMORPG with a free trial up to Level 60? We don’t blame you; Square Enix’s latest MMO – often referred to simply as Final Fantasy XIV – is one of the most popular games out right now, and for good reason. Blessed with continued support from the developer, with a friendly, engaged community, and spanning decades of Final Fantasy history, the game is widely regarded as one of the best games in the series for new players as well as veterans of the prestigious series.

Character creation

Final Fantasy XIV

The first thing you need to do before you get into Final Fantasy XIV is created your own Warrior of Light. You will be given access to a total of six races to choose from including Hyur, Elezen, Lalafell, Miqo’te, Roegadyn, and Au Ra which have been added to the new version of the free trial.

However, depending on whether you choose to purchase the Shadowbringers expansion or not, you will also be given access to two other races, the male Hrothgar and the female Viera. South Viera is joining the game with the launch of Endwalker if you want to be a bunny.

Choosing a Job – Final Fantasy XIV

Getting started in FFXIV means you’ll need to choose your first Job (aka Class) in the character creator, and choosing from a range of options can be quite stressful. Choosing your first Work Task doesn’t mean you’ll be stuck with it forever, however, we do recommend choosing a task that you think you’ll enjoy getting started.

The starting class you choose is a ‘prerequisite class’ that will grow upon reaching Level 30 and completing the Dedicated Job Quest. It’s important to note that your starting class will also coincide with your starting city, so if you’re planning to play with friends early on, we recommend choosing a Job that will start you live in the same city as them.


Final Fantasy XIV

Early on in your journey through the story of Final Fantasy XIV you’ll find yourself leveling up fairly easily though you may come to a stretch where you can’t progress to the next MSQ until you reach one certain level.

When you want to get that extra XP, this is where the daily quests are called Duty Roulette. After the daily reset, you will be able to participate in Duty Roulette located in Duty Finder, which will reward you with Gil and bonus XP upon completion. We strongly recommend completing your diaries the more you get into the game, this way you’ll be able to continue MSQ without worrying about not getting high enough.

Dungeons, Trials, and Raids – Final Fantasy XIV

Final Fantasy XIV

As you play through the game’s story, you’ll come across quests that will unlock a specific dungeon, test, or raid. They must be completed to progress to the next MSQ and can be completed by forming a group or lining up in the Duty Finder.

As explained earlier, there are also some dungeons, raids, as well as Hard and Extreme Trials unlocked through NPCs around Eorzea.

The two Quests that we strongly recommend unlocking after completing the ARR story are:

  • Labyrinth of the Ancients (Crystal Tower, level 50 raid series)
  • The Binding Coil of Bahamut (Level 50 Raid Series)